Posted by: thecoloradan | May 2, 2012

the prologue

The story of how I came to live in Colorado is a LONG, somewhat painful, and deeply personal story. So I’m going to skip ahead to the summer of 2010. At this point in my life, I was separated from my then husband (that’s the painful and personal story I might share later) and starting my life completely over. I had never before had to make my own way. I had to pay my own bills and budget my time and money. I had to choose groceries over restaurants and electricity over new clothes. I realize that everyone eventually goes through this, and 22 isn’t necessarily all that late in the game. A lot of people stay at home through school or get married at a young age, so I know this isn’t anything new and profound. But it was difficult!!  It still is. (Just today I had to look into new car insurance and man, that stuff is expensive!) Anyway, while all of this is happening, I started my last semester of college. By this time, I had realized that while I loved my major, it wasn’t exactly going to be taking me places. Humanities is fun and interesting and not all that surprisingly, practically useless. Well, if you know me at all, you know I was FREAKING OUT about what to do with my life. I decided to look into grad schools for history or education. I mean, I had always wanted to be a teacher, so why not? Plus, I was good at school, and staying there meant delaying any other major decisions. While searching, I discovered the University of Colorado at Boulder and decided to take a trip in October. And what should happen?

I FELL IN LOVE. With the campus. With the state. With the beauty of God’s creation that I swear is only magnified here. I was smitten.  And then I saw how much out of state tuition would be. I was heartbroken.  It costs more in one semester of grad school at CU than I paid for my entire bachelor’s degree. I knew I could never pay that kind of money to go to school. I 100% believe that education is worth the cost. I truly do.  But I personally couldn’t allow myself to take on that much debt. I grew up in a home surrounded by debt. My mother took care of two kids on her own for a long time and we struggled. And I saw what it did to her- and I couldn’t do that for something that I saw as… frivolous. My mother did what she HAD to do to take care of us and I am so grateful and proud that she did. But I didn’t HAVE to go to school there. Who am I to take on thousands of dollars of debt and possibly bring that into a future family for something that I wasn’t sure of? For something I decided to do on a whim. For something that was unnecessary. No matter how I could have justified it, it wasn’t something that I felt comfortable with and I know now it wouldn’t have been the right thing to do. And truth be told-I was more in love with Colorado than with the program or the school anyway. I didn’t need to go to school there to LIVE there!

So it was decided then and there that I would just move to Colorado. So simple. Only not!  It took me over a year of saving, planning, searching, and praying to get here. I had no idea what I was going to do when I got here. I didn’t know how I was going to afford to live in a place with such a higher cost of living. But I was determined. Finally, about 6 months ago, I was informed that I had to be out of the house I was renting by January. I had to move out and I took that as a sign. If I had to find a new place to live anyway, why not just find a place to live in Colorado instead. Again, not as simple as it sounds. First, I had to find a job there and so far that had proved…impossible. But to my surprise, a position opened up within the company I worked for in the exact area I wanted to be. I applied and interviewed. I beat out 5 other internal applicants and was offered the job. I accepted without hesitation, knowing it was the right decision. I had been praying for so long and everything was lining up. I even had to opportunity to live rent free for a few months, saving up all the money I needed for a u-haul and gas. My friend Shannon’s roommate needed to move out and within one week of accepting the job, I had a place to live. And if was cheaper than anywhere I had seen so far online!  It was all settled within two weeks of applying for that job.

Surprisingly enough, I had no reservations about the move. I was calm and confident. I finished my last day of work on a Wednesday and moved into my apartment in Colorado on Friday. I had finally done it. I had a dream, I made it a goal, and I accomplished it. Friday March 30th– the day my dreams came true.

Responses

  1. I LOVE this post! I love how everything just fell into place perfectly allowing your dream to come true! I am so proud of you for having the discipline and strength to make this happen, I really respect you for that! I wish so bad that I didn’t have the fear aspect about moving. I desire your calm and confident demeanor. Maybe I can eventually have that by August!

    I love this line… “I FELL IN LOVE. With the campus. With the state. With the beauty of God’s creation that I swear is only magnified here.”

    I can just see the Colorado beauty!

    Love you!
    B

  2. loving the blog Dani
    looking forward to reading about what happened next

  3. So proud of you!…and so happy that you decided to start a blog!

  4. Dani, we pray for you as you make your home in CO. Although, you know we miss you in OK. Love you so much!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

