Posted by: thecoloradan | May 20, 2012

the first month

My first full month in Colorado was not exactly what I expected. I imagined myself making all these new friends at work, finding a local church to attend (where, of course, I would make even more friends) and exploring the newness. Instead, I was treated terribly at my job, made no friends, and became something of a recluse. Here’s how it really went…

Work: I walked into my new branch with high hopes of friendship like that of all the previous places I’ve worked. Some of my most wonderful friendships started at work. But this was not the case. I was treated with more disrespect than I have ever experienced before. I’ve never encountered a situation where I was totally ignored- we’re talking people stood in front of me and had a conversation without including me. I’ve never been treated as if I was so stupid- anytime I asked a question because it was different than how we did things at my branch in Oklahoma, I was spoken to like an idiot and given dirty looks. There were times when I had to squat down behind the counter and force myself not to cry. I took that for about 3 days before I called in and quit. Then I talked to the district manager who tried to convince me to stay. It worked- I decided I would try it for a bit more. I gave my two weeks the next day. If you know me at all, you know that I am not normally this irrational. Especially when it comes to something like money, but it was so bad I decided I would quit without another job in place. Luckily, within the next couple days I lined up another job (with less hours and way less pay but hey, it had to be better!) I now work at Starbucks (again) and I was right, it is much better. The people are friendly and outgoing and fun to work with. But I still haven’t really made any friends there. Hopefully with time, a few of them will become the type of friends that you actually hang out with outside of work.

Church: This is something I am still struggling with. I asked my former youth pastor for suggestions on churches up here that might be similar in theology to ours. He made a few and I decided to try out one in downtown Denver called “Fellowship Denver”. First of all, it is nothing like the church I grew up in. This place has hipster written all over it. The first week I was there the pastor asked how many people were between the ages of 20 and 29. About 99% of the congregation raised their hands. Looking around I didn’t see any families or older couples. It was all people in their mid 20s wearing jeans and t-shirts. Now I’m not judging- it was just so different! I also noticed that if I wanted to meet people, I would have to do all the work. And I’m not there yet. I go by myself everyday and really haven’t met anyone yet. I went to a newcomer’s lunch, but even then all the newcomers were couples or knew a person that already attended. I was all alone. And I’ll admit, I haven’t helped myself any. I haven’t stayed after church gets out and tried to meet people. The environment is totally different- they have Sunday worship and then fellowship groups (different groups that meet one night a week at people’s houses). No Wednesday night church, no agape feasts, not youth trips. I can’t decide if I should keep attending the church (the teachings are really good so far and they are just now starting a brand new book to study so I could actually see a whole series through) or if I should try a church in the suburb of Denver that I live. See if it’s a little more “my type”. Any thoughts?

Colorado: There isn’t much I can tell you yet about what there is to do here. Because I haven’t done much yet. Daddy bought me some hiking boots, but I haven’t gone hiking yet- the idea of going out in the mountains alone scares me. I’ve made a commitment to myself to get out of this apartment more and try new things. Starting soon there will be all kinds of festivals going on- art, music, wine, food, beer. I think I am going to buy a cheap-o bike and start riding. Moving here was so much more difficult than I thought. I in no way regret my decision but I was a lot sadder than I thought I would be. I missed my family. I missed my friends. I missed knowing that if I got bored, I could text Katelyn and we would go to Outback, order our usual and talk. Now I had no one to go with and no one to talk to.

I am determined to see all this city has to offer. I’m determined to find a church home. I am determined to make friends. Because even though it has been so much harder than I thought it would be, I don’t regret my decision or think I made the wrong choice. I have still accomplished my goal to move to Colorado. And now I have a new one- make a life in Colorado.

Responses

  1. It takes time but you can do it. I’m so proud of you for going after your dream – if you can do that, you can do anything you set your sights on.

    As I may have mentioned before, I am soooooooooo proud of you.
    I love you.

  2. I love the last line… “I have still accomplished my goal to move to Colorado. And now I have a new one- make a life in Colorado.”

    I wholeheartedly believe that you are going to make an amazing life in Colorado. I cannot wait to see your new home, and your new city in a few weeks.

    Love you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

