Posted by: thecoloradan | June 22, 2012

my first visitor

This past weekend one of my very best friends EVER came to visit me. Try not to be overwhelmed by the awesomeness that is B and I. Or judge us for the fact that the majority of our time together revolved around food.

 

Charlie came with me to pick B up from the airport. This is where she likes to ride. And don’t worry, I was stopped at a red light when I took the pic. And that is the only meal we ate at home. French toast, chicken sausage and fruit. Yummy!

 

       

We went to Estes Park, one of my favorite places to go. The view is gorgeous year round. The Stanley Hotel, where they filmed The Shining, was really neat. We stopped in one of my favorite stores-a little art and paper store that has really good espresso drinks. While in town, I bought some Colorado themed scrapbook stuff and B got a dream catcher necklace. We resisted temptation and didn’t get ice cream at one of the, oh probably 10, “old fashioned” ice cream parlors we passed. Although, we did stop in them all to smell the candy and cones!

    

Then we drove to Boulder and walked down Pearl Street Mall. We ate our first of many delicious (and I mean delicious!) meals on the rooftop patio of Lazy Dog. We got free samples of ice cream, yummy chocolates, and saw people doing yoga and sunbathing in the middle of the pedestrian mall. Boulder is an interesting place for sure! We decided that we needed a rest so we went back to my apartment and watched 500 Days of Summer. For dinner we went to a little town center called The Orchard. It is really adorable and we happened to stumble upon a concert going on. We sat on the patio of a Belgian Beer Cafe called The Cheeky Monk where we listened to music, ate the most amazing rabbit stew (in about 3 minutes) and I actually enjoyed a beer.

   

On Saturday after I got off from my opening shift, we went downtown and ate at Snooze, An AM Eatery. Here we had the most amazing breakfasts and the best coffee I’ve ever had. We also had yummy mimosas and a random conversation with the ladies next to us. Then we drove around downtown, up into little cute neighborhoods of Denver, and needed another break. We watched The Ugly Truth and had girly conversations. And then it was time to eat again! We had Osteria Marco– an Italian restaurant in Larimer Square downtown. They make their own cheeses. If you know me at all, you know I love cheese. And crispy prosciutto and fig pizza apparently. We talked more and telepathically made fun of the suuuuuper smart girl next to us. Later we went back to the Cheeky Monk with Tyler and had fondue and good conversation.

  

After I opened again on Sunday, we went to my new church. Then we went to Pridefest. For many, this may seem like a contradiction, but I am not even going to get into that. God loves everybody and that is all I have to say about it right now. It was like a huge festival with booths ranging from food and drink to informational booths about how to stay healthy. I will admit, we saw A LOT of boys in their underwear and girls in not much else. It was a really hot day (I burned!), so we pretty much just walked the entire thing and then headed to lunch. We walked the 16th Street Mall and had our last meal at Earls. Yet again, delicious. At this point, we were both exhausted!! We had more time to kill, so we explored the city some more. We stopped at The Shoppe where I had a fabulous cupcake and she had a mini pie. And then sadly, it was time for her to fly back to OKC.

      

It was so good to see Brittany. I have missed her terribly and I really enjoyed having someone to talk to and listen to. We talked about her moving to NYC and what it has been like here. I told her about my new philosophy on life right now (which I will share in another post- but that is where she got the title for her post about this weekend You Gotta Start Somewhere). I really do love this girl and I can’t wait to see what God has in store for her. We have been through so much together, and I know our friendship will only continue to grow if we work at it! I love you B!

Responses

  1. I love love LOVE how you put it: “We have been through so much together, and I know our friendship will only continue to grow if we work at it!” That is absolutely perfect. Great friendships like ours take work, and I love that we are both willing to put forth the effort, and not let being so far away be an issue! I love you so so SO much, and it was so great seeing you, I’ve really REALLY missed you. I am already trying to figure out when we’ll get to see each other next! As far as my bday in September, I prob won’t be able to take a trip since classes start that week, so maybe sometime in late Sept or Oct we can meet up somewhere! We’ll figure it all out 🙂 You’re my bestie, forever and always.

    B

  2. Reblogged this on Sooner and the City and commented:
    Check out Dani’s post about my trip to Colorado!

  3. are there cookies on top of that cupcake?

  4. It was mousse with whipped cream and caramel drizzle! It was a caramel macchiato one and now I want another

  5. I miss you too much sweetie and can’t wait until we visit next month
    oh, and can we do all this then?
    I know Patrick will want to try the beer
    xxx


Leave a Reply

Categories

